Connect with us


Indiana football long snapper Sean Wracher named to Patrick Mannelly Award Preseason Watch List



Wracher Named Patrick Mannelly Award Preseason Watch List. (Photo Credit: IU Football)

As per a release from Indiana football, long snapper Sean Wracher was named as part of the 25-person preseason watch list for the Patrick Mannelly Award.

Indiana football has been busy with huge announcements today as earlier, it was announced that Indiana football is planning for a football-only weight room facility. 

Below is the full release for Wracher.

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – The Patrick Mannelly Award is built for the unsung hero: long snappers. And, Indiana football long snapper Sean Wracher, one of the nation’s elite long snappers, is part of the 25-person preseason watch list for the award.

The Patrick Mannelly Award is presented to the overall best long snapper at the Division I FBS level. The winner must be of senior standing, have started 75% of games in his senior year, snap on punts and placements, and demonstrate a strong mentality, notable athleticism, as well as speed, accuracy, and consistency in their snaps.

A 2022 semifinalist for the Mannelly Award, Wracher is a three-time Phil Steele All-Big Ten selections (2020, 2021, 2022). He has handled the long snapping duty in all 45 career games and helped three teammates earn all-conference honors, as both punter Haydon Whitehead (honorable mention) and place kicker Logan Justus (second team) earned All-Big Ten honors in 2019 and place kicker Charles Campbell (second team) garnered All-B1G in 2020.

A three-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree, Wracher’s work helped Whitehead to a spot as a semifinalist for the Ray Guy Award after he averaged 43.4 yards per punt to sit No. 4 on IU’s single-season list.

Named after Patrick Mannelly, widely known as the best long snapper in the modern NFL era, he was a four-year starter at long snapper and two-year starter at offensive line at Duke University before being drafted by the Chicago Bears in the sixth round of the 1998 NFL Draft. Mannelly is the Bears career leader in games played at 245, the longest tenured Chicago Bear after playing 16 seasons, and a recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award.

From the 25-preson preseason watch list, ten semi-finalists will be announced on November 13. Those names will be narrowed to three finalists on November 27 and the winner will be selected at the ceremony in Lake Bluff, Illinois, on December 9.

SEE ALSO: Receiver, running back, kick returner? All of the above. Jaylin Lucas bringing a well-rounded skillset into year two at Indiana

Make sure to follow Hoosier Illustrated on Twitter @Indiana_FRN and YouTube to stay up to date on all of the news, updates and coverage of Indiana University athletics. 

Kyler Staley is a Basketball Recruiting Analyst for Hoosier Illustrated, a comprehensive site covering news, updates and recruiting for Indiana University athletics. Kyler has been in the basketball recruiting industry since 2019 and is a credentialed media member. He has covered Indiana since 2021 while continuing to also work for Prep Hoops Indiana. He has previously worked for Rivals.