Connect with us


Indiana basketball picked sixth in preseason Big Ten Media Poll; Mackenzie Mgbako picked as Freshman of the Year



Indiana basketball, Mike Woodson
The 'unofficial' official Big Ten men's basketball media poll was released Monday morning, with the Indiana basketball program picked sixth. (Bobby Goddin/Herald-Times-USA TODAY NETWORK)

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – The ‘unofficial’ official Big Ten men’s basketball media poll was released on Monday morning. It has been run by The Athletic’s Brendan Quinn and Adam Jardy of the Columbus Dispatch for the last seven years.

All 14 programs are represented by two writers covering each school.

The Indiana basketball program finished sixth in the voting, while freshman Mackenzie Mgbako was picked to win the Big Ten Freshman of the Year. He received 19 first place votes. Indiana guard Jalen Hood-Schifino was the Big Ten Freshman of the Year in 2022.

“Only time will tell. He’s capable of putting the basketball in the hole. He’s shown that this summer. We’ve got to help him as coaches and put him in the best position possible to be successful and help us,” Indiana basketball head coach Mike Woodson said at Indiana media day. “I’m expecting big things from him, but I’m not putting a lot of pressure on him. He’s a freshman.”

Indiana basketball sophomore transfer Kel’el Ware received two votes in the Transfer of the Year voting.

Watch: Full Ride Network video preview of Indiana basketball 2023-24 season 

Big Ten men’s basketball media day is on Tuesday, October 10.

Big Ten Conference prediction (first-place votes in parenthesis)

1. Purdue, 388 (24)
2. Michigan State, 368 (4)
3. Maryland, 304
4. Illinois, 301
5. Wisconsin, 276
6. Indiana, 244
7. Ohio State, 228
8. Northwestern, 195
9. Iowa, 164
10. Rutgers, 147
11. Michigan, 131
12. Nebraska, 90
13. Penn State, 71
14. Minnesota, 33

(392 possible votes)

Freshman of the Year: Mackenzie Mgbako, Indiana (19)

Receiving votes: DeShawn Harris-Smith, Maryland (5); Xavier Booker, Michigan State (2); Myles Colvin, Purdue,  Scotty Middleton, Ohio State (1)

Transfer of the Year: Ace Baldwin Jr., Penn State (14)

Receiving votes: Olivier Nkamhoua, Michigan (6); Jamison Battle, Ohio State (4); Kel’el Ware, Indiana, AJ Storr, Wisconsin (2)

SEE ALSO: National analyst provides tidbits on Indiana basketball pro day

Make sure to follow Hoosier Illustrated, part of the Full Ride Network, on Twitter @Indiana_FRN, Facebook and YouTubeto stay up to date on all of the news, updates and coverage of Indiana University athletics. You can also listen to the Talking’ Bout the Hoosiers podcast on Spotify.

Alec Lasley is the owner of Hoosier Illustrated, a comprehensive site covering news, updates and recruiting for Indiana University athletics. Alec has covered Indiana for six years and is a credentialed media member. He has previously worked for both Rivals and 247Sports.