Connect with us


Indiana women’s basketball wing Yarden Garzon named one of 10 finalists for the Cheryl Miller Award



Indiana women's basketball
Indiana women's basketball wing Yarden Garzon was named one of 10 finalists for the Cheryl Miller Award this week. (Rich Janzaruk/Herald-Times-USA TODAY NETWORK)

Indiana women’s basketball wing Yarden Garzon was one of the 10 finalists named to the Cheryl Miller Award this week – the award given to the nations best small forward.

Garzon has been a steady force in her second season, building off of what was a great first year in Bloomington. This season she is averaging 11.4 points per game and shooting 44.9 percent from three.

She also set her career-high this year, scoring 30 points on 12-of-14 shooting against Evansville.

Below is the full release from the Indiana women’s basketball program.

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Sophomore guard Yarden Garzon has been named one of 10 finalists for the 2024 Cheryl Miller Award by the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association on Wednesday.

The Ra’anana, Israel native averages 11.4 points, 3.8 rebounds, 3.4 assists and shoots 46.7 percent from the floor for the Hoosiers in her sophomore campaign. She has scored in double figures nine times and is shooting 44.9 percent from the 3-point line (31-for-69). Garzon set a career-high 30 points when she went 12-for-14 from the floor against Evansville and put up 23 points in a victory over No. 19/21 Tennessee.

She has dished out multiple assists in 15 games and multiple rebounds in 16 games this season. This is the fourth-straight year a Hoosier has appeared on the Cheryl Miller Award Top 10, as Grace Berger was a finalist in three-straight seasons from 2020-23.

Fans can support their favorite players in the remaining rounds by participating in Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, starting Friday, January 26, on The Fan Vote will count as one committee vote during the finalist selection process.

In March, five finalists will be presented to Miller and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The Selection Committee for the Cheryl Miller Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel, including media members, head coaches, sports information directors, and Hall of Famers.

SEE ALSO: Indiana women’s basketball guard Sara Scalia named a Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Top 10 candidate

Make sure to follow Hoosier Illustrated, part of the Full Ride Network, on Twitter @Indiana_FRN, Facebook and YouTube to stay up to date on all of the news, updates and coverage of Indiana University athletics. You can also listen to the Talking’ Bout the Hoosiers podcast on Spotify.

Alec Lasley is the owner of Hoosier Illustrated, a comprehensive site covering news, updates and recruiting for Indiana University athletics. Alec has covered Indiana for six years and is a credentialed media member. He has previously worked for both Rivals and 247Sports.